Super Bowl dessert

Around the time the Bears won the super bowl in ’86 we denominated “super bowl dessert.” Our family watched the game each year with our neighbors, The Fultz’s, and Brenda always brought the dessert. It was quite a novelty for my brothers and I at the time. We were allowed very little in the way of junk food, of which my mother classified soda, marshmallow fluff, and cool whip–all things that we desperately wanted to eat.

I am guessing you have seen or eaten a version of this layered dessert at some point:

1st Layer
1 c. flour
1/2 c. nuts
1/2 c. butter, melted
Pat into 9×13 pan and baked at 350 for 10 min

2nd Layer
8 oz. cream cheese
1 c. powdered sugar
1 c. whipped cream ( Cool Whip)
Mix cream cheese and powdered sugar until blended.  Fold in the whipped cream.

3rd Layer
2 pkg. instant chocolate pudding
2 c milk
1 t. vanilla
Beat 2 min. on low speed

Topping
More whipping cream and chopped nuts.

Make ahead and refrigerate.

It has been many years since I have had super bowl dessert, but I am seriously considering resurrecting this. I think it will pair beautifully with the mozzarella sticks and guacamole that my son wants. Maybe I’ll add venison sliders and chicken wings to this budding menu. Pop open a can of cold Coors Light and it’s a party!!

Remember the Super bowl shuffle!? hee hee

Trivia: Who played the national anthem for the super bowl that year?
I only remember because I fell in love with a trumpeter that day.

No matter what you make, have fun gathering and watching the game with family and friends!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

