soupe de poireaux artichauts aux champignons

The first party I ever planned and hosted was for my college graduation from Indiana University. I still have the grocery and prep list tucked in the cookbook where I found the following recipe for “Goose soup” I don’t even understand why it was called that. So in an obvious attempt to sound hoity and french I call it, “soupe de poireaux artichauts aux champignons” cuz that’s what I think Julia would do. Honestly, I can’t even say that–at least not with my dignity intact.

It is a recipe that I have gone back to again and again because it is so easy and delicious. I made it just last weekend. It is the soup time of year.

photo-47

8 oz fresh mushrooms, sliced
1 med leek, sliced
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup flour
1 quart chicken broth
1 can artichokes, coarsely chopped
1 tsp tarragon
1/2 tsp salt
fresh ground pepper
2 tsp fresh lemon juice
few shakes of tabasco sauce
1/2 pint whipping cream (or half & half)

Saute mushrooms and leeks in butter over medium heat until tender.

photo-50

Add flour, stirring until smooth.

photo-48

Slowly add broth, stirring constantly. Add next 6 ingredients. Simmer until slightly thickened. Add cream and heat slowly until warm.

photo-49

Serves 4

It is, in fact, better after it has been in the fridge overnight. I eat most for lunch in the following days–and that includes today!

Stay warm out there!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

