Bread….better with beer.

Sarah DuensingI am not usually a hoppy beer drinker–I know, all the cool kids are doing it, but it just isn’t for me. I think it might be my overdeveloped sweet tooth. The bitter just isn’t pleasing. But no matter, I still like to try new things and last last weekend I found myself at Dublin O’Neil’s for a pre St. Patrick’s day boxty and smoked salmon and I branched out. I asked for a taster of Two Brothers Northwind imperial stout! I was thinking that I ought to partake of an Irish brew, but I like the idea of food and drink that doesn’t have to travel around the world to get to me. This is not a hard and fast rule–more of a guideline. I am more than a little partial to French cheeses and books from amazon. Warrensville, Illinois is basically a suburb of Chicago, so not around the corner from Champaign, but at least I could drive there without too much trouble. Plus, I really like their Ebel’s Weiss.

yummy beer bread ingredients go here
I was blown away! It was full and thick and a little sweet and not at all bitter. It is smooth and more than a little pleasant! So I had one with lunch and on the way home I stopped at the grocery and bought a six-pack (for $10.99 or something insane like that–can I just soap box for a sec–shouldn’t local products cost less since they don’t have to travel as far?! sheesh.) But I was happy with it and another one in I decided to make this chedder bacon beer bread with the stout (from a teenager’s blog)! oh em gee! It makes one loaf and that loaf must weigh 8 pounds. It was all dark and dense and delicious.

fiinished beer bread
I have a family beer bread recipe that I have made over the years, but it calls for a stick of melted butter to pour over it and though it is quite nice, it’s just a little too much. You actually have to turn the bread to prevent the butter from settling on the bottom. This one is much better.

This entry was posted in cheese, local food, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

