A Summer Relish

Sarah DuensingMy brother Joe caught some nice bass at my parents this past weekend and we went home with a few fillets. The normal procedure is to beer batter and fry them, but I thought I might try something a little different. I marinated the fillets for a few hours in a little vinegar, dill (tiny sprigs are just coming up in the garden), and minced onion. Then I made a relish with the left over dill and onion, tomato, cucumber, avocado, vinegar and salt and pepper. I baked the fish and I can’t say that that was better then beer batter but the relish was so nice and light and it just got better after is sat in the fridge overnight. I have been eating it over goat cheese on toast with a poached egg these last couple mornings. Sorry no pictures–you will just have to imagine its deliciousness.

Here is my best guesstimate of what I put in:
1/4 of an onion, minced
1/2 a medium cucumber, diced
1 T fresh dill, minced
1/2 an avocado, chopped
1/2 a med tomato, chopped
2 T white vinegar (maybe a little more)
salt and pepper to taste

Play with it and see what you think!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

